Puerto Peñasco included within Northern Border Zone


Puerto Peñasco mayor Ernesto “Kiko” Munro expressed appreciation to Mexican president Andrés Manuel López Obrador (AMLO), local and federal legislators, as well as congressional leaders in helping to ensure the municipality of Puerto Peñasco was included within the Northern Border “Free Zone”, which is to go into effect on Jan. 1, 2019.

The mayor further acknowledged the work of business chambers in working to achieve benefits under the plan, which is meant to reduce income tax to 20%, the value added tax (IVA) to 8%, and standardize gas prices with the southern part of the U.S., among other actions.

Eleven border municipalities in Sonora are part of the Border Region zone, including San Luis Río Colorado, Puerto Peñasco, Plutarco Elías Calles, Caborca, Altar, Sáric, Nogales, Santa Cruz, Cananea, Naco and Agua Prieta. Over forty municipalities in all are part of the program extending along the entire U.S./Mexico border.


The Mazatlan Post