The secretaries of the next Government will be distributed across Mexico


The proposal of the virtual president-elect states that the only secretariats that would have their headquarters in the CDMX are those of Defense, Navy, Government, Foreign Affairs and Finance.

One of the main priorities of Andrés Manuel López Obrador, as of December 1, will be the supposed decentralization of the majority of state ministries and federal agencies.

The idea of the virtual president-elect, which was reiterated in his campaign and raised since November 2017, proposes that the only secretariats that would be based in Mexico City, for matters of national security, are those of Defense , Navy , Government , Foreign Affairs and Finance.

López Obrador’s approach details that this decentralization is “to promote development throughout the national territory, in order to be in a better position to face the challenge of Mexico City’s vulnerability to earthquakes and water supply problems and other services”.

Proposes the transfer of the Secretariat of Tourism to Chetumal , Quintana Roo; of the Environment , to Mérida , Yucatán; Pemex , to Ciudad del Carmen , Campeche, and Energy , to Villahermosa , Tabasco.

In addition, the CFE , to Tuxtla Gutiérrez , Chiapas; the National Water Commission , to the port of Veracruz ; Social Development , to the capital of Oaxaca ; SEP , to the city of Puebla , and the Ministry of Culture to Tlaxcala .

Proposes to take Banobras to Cuernavaca , Morelos; the Infonavit , to Toluca , State of Mexico; the Ministry of Health , to Acapulco , Guerrero; the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS), to Morelia , Michoacán; the Cattle ranch to Guadalajara , Jalisco, and the Institute of Security and Social Services of the Workers of the State (ISSSTE), to the city of Colima .

López Obrador also committed to transfer the National Sports Commission(Conade) to Aguascalientes ; the Secretariat of Public Function (SFP) to Querétaro ; del Trabajo , to León , Guanajuato; Urban Development (Sedatu), to Pachuca , Hidalgo; Diconsa , to Zacatecas ; the Ministry of Communications and Transportation , to San Luis Potosí ; Economy , to Monterrey , Nuevo León, and Nacional Financiera (Nafin), to Torreón , Coahuila.

The Tabasco project also includes taking the Forestry Commission out of the country’s capital and taking it to Durango ; the National Fund for the Promotion of Tourism (Fonatur), Bahía de Banderas , Nayarit; the National Aquaculture Commission and the National Fisheries Institute , to Mazatlan , Sinaloa; the Secretary of Agriculture , to Ciudad Obregón , Sonora; the National Council of Science and Technology (Conacyt), to La Paz , Baja California Sur, and the National Institute of Migration (INM), to Tijuana , Baja California.

In addition, the eventual Secretary of Mining , to Chihuahua , and Customs , to Nuevo Laredo , Tamaulipas.